‘Series I – Road Trauma Prevention Award’

In 2017, the Road Traffic Accident Trauma Charitable Trust introduced the annual Canterbury Road Trauma Awards, to honour industry professionals and members of the public who have worked to minimise road crash trauma, both directly at road crash sites and in an ongoing manner. The Road Trauma Prevention Award recognises outstanding individuals, teams or professional organisations deserving of special recognition for their contribution to road safety, public education, road trauma prevention initiatives, and a professional duty of care in Canterbury.

To assist those who might be considering a nomination, the Canterbury Road Trauma Awards Committee is very pleased to announce our Canterbury Road Trauma Awards Information Seminar series. ‘Series I – Road Trauma Prevention Award’ will be hosted by New Zealand Transport Agency (NZTA).

The seminar will take place at NZTA Offices, Level 1, BNZ Centre, 120 Hereford Street, Christchurch on Friday, 2 August at 1.30pm. Light refreshments will be available.

The purpose of the Information Seminar series is to help the sector understand:

  • the importance of the Canterbury Road Awards;
  • understand the importance of the wider perspective recognition to the prevention of road crashes;
  • overview of Canterbury Road Trauma Prevention Awards criteria.

It will also be an opportunity for you to ask Awards Committee Representatives, Prof. Alan Nicholson, (University of Canterbury), Jenny Dickinson, (NZTA), Dr Glen Koorey, (ViaStrada) and Sarah Dean, (Road Traffic Accident Trauma Charitable Trust) further questions in relation to the Award and its criteria.

Left to Right: Sarah Dean, Councilor Aaron Keown, Jenny Dickinson, Prof. Gary Hooper, Dr Glen Koorey, Prof. Alan Nicholson and Steve Wakefield





We look forward to seeing you.  For catering purposes, please RSVP to Sarah Dean, roadtraffictrauma@xtra.co.nz by 1 August 2019.